Wizard 1 casts wall of force which surrounds Wizard 2. Now both wizards have full cover against each other. For example, now they cannot cast fireball against each other, because "nothing can physically pass through the wall" per its rules.

But what about phantasmal killer? From description:

You tap into the nightmares of a creature you can see within range and create an illusory manifestation of its deepest fears, visible only to that creature

I think wall of force does not help against phantasmal killer because nothing is physically passing through the wall, but I wanted to confirm if that's how RAW works here.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Jul 6, 2019 at 0:19

1 Answer 1


No. You need a clear path to the target

To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover.

Being behind a wall of force constitutes total cover, so the wizards can't target one another.

This answer further elucidates the subject with a link to a podcast by Jeremy Crawford discussing a window blocking spell targeting.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This answer should include the reasoning of why Wall of Force would grant total cover. \$\endgroup\$
    – Akixkisu
    Jul 6, 2019 at 0:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Akixkisu linked to cover for convenience. It specifically calls out a wall as providing cover. \$\endgroup\$
    – GcL
    Jul 6, 2019 at 0:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Then you should make that distinct in your answer. While links are helpful the actual argument and reasoning should be clear, generally brevity is acceptable but not at the cost of a full explanation which is always better (see good answer faq). \$\endgroup\$
    – Akixkisu
    Jul 6, 2019 at 0:28
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ The relevant quote from the cover rules: "Walls, trees, creatures, and other obstacles can provide cover during combat, making a target more difficult to harm." Wall of Force, as its name suggests, makes a wall. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mark Wells
    Jul 6, 2019 at 0:33
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Akixkisu The premise of the question is that Wall of Force grants total cover, so it's not something that needs to be proven here. \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Jul 6, 2019 at 0:40

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .