4
\$\begingroup\$

My friends and I are playing D&D 5e. Our DM has allowed me to use the Arcane Tradition of Lore Mastery from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard. I have a question regarding its Spell Secrets and Alchemical Casting features used in conjunction with spells cast from Wands or Staffs.

It has been confirmed by Jeremy Crawford himself that if an item's description says that you cast a spell from it, then you can apply metamagic to that spell.

My question is whether this applies to the abilities of the Lore Master wizard as well.
Can a Lore Mastery wizard use Spell Secrets or Alchemical Casting to modify spells cast through wands or staffs?

I'm specifically wondering about the wand of lightning bolts and wand of fireballs. I'm trying to see if I can use my abilities as a Lore Mastery wizard to change the damage types of the spells I am casting from these wands.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ What kinds of Wands and Staff would you be using? \$\endgroup\$ – Akixkisu Jul 7 at 10:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Wand of lightningbolt and fireballs. Evocation types. Im trying to see if i can use my abilities as a lore master to change the elements of thr spells i am casting from these wands. \$\endgroup\$ – Foy Jul 7 at 10:19
10
\$\begingroup\$

The Lore Master's abilities don't work with spells cast from items

Unfortunately, the Lore Master's Spell Secrets and Alchemical Casting features both have a more restrictive wording than the Sorcerer's metamagic, as they specify the restriction (emphasis mine):

When you cast a spell with a spell slot [...]

If you didn't use a spell slot to cast the spell, it's not eligible to be affected by these features. As a general rule, spells cast from items do so without using your own slots (emphasis mine):

Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise.

If you had a magic item which explicitly let you cast a certain spell using your own spell slots, then a spell cast in that way should qualify for these effects; but I can't think of any such items off the top of my head, and they would be the exception rather than the rule.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.