10
\$\begingroup\$

The 4th level spell Sleet Storm says

If a creature is concentrating in the spell’s area, the creature must make a successful Constitution saving throw against your spell save DC or lose concentration.

How often is this condition checked? Each round? Each turn?

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

When they start their turn in its area

Sleet Storm specifies (my emphasis):

If a creature starts its turn in the spell's area and is concentrating on a spell, the creature must make a successful Constitution saving throw against your spell save DC or lose concentration.

Just walking in and out won't be a problem. It's only an issue that forces a concentration save if they start their turn in the spell's area.

Older PHB printings don't have this text, but the special edition box set and all printings thereafter should include the V2.0 errata from November, 2018. This particular change appears as [new] in the linked document.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This must have been added as an errata since my PHB was published. Makes sense tho \$\endgroup\$ – Destruktor Jul 8 at 19:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Destruktor Just checked, and yup - that was it. My PHB also has it without that language. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jul 8 at 19:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Destruktor Yeah, looks like that was one of the new errata in the November 2018 document ("version 2.0"). \$\endgroup\$ – Darth Pseudonym Jul 8 at 19:20
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @G.Moylan Yes, that's correct. The 2.0 errata matches the special edition box set and future printings of the PHB. \$\endgroup\$ – Darth Pseudonym Jul 8 at 19:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @G.Moylan Thanks for the clarification! \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jul 8 at 19:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.