7
\$\begingroup\$

Inspired by this question I am wondering how exactly the web spell works. It states (emphasis mine):

Each creature that starts its turn in the webs or that enters them during its turn must make a Dexterity saving throw.

I believe that this means that if you are not in the webs and enter them, you must make a save. If you succeeded, exited the webs, and re-entered them, you would have to make another save, as you are "entering the webs during your turn".

Unlike many other spells such as moonbeam, web does not state that the save occurs only the first time you enter them.

Do you have to make a save for each square of webbing that you enter?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ The body of your question may have a different answer than the bolded question on the bottom. The body asks about entering and leaving and the bolded question seems to be asking about moving through the web. \$\endgroup\$ – Alk Jul 12 at 18:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Alk I am wondering whether moving through the webs counts as entering them. \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jul 12 at 18:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for clarifying \$\endgroup\$ – Alk Jul 12 at 18:29
12
\$\begingroup\$

No

All the squares that the web spell affects are the result of a single spell. The wording uses webs (plural) but it starts by specifying:

You conjure a mass of thick, sticky webbing at a point of your choice within range

So there is only one effect, and moving between squares within the web does not trigger any additional saves because the spell does not specify any need to make saves outside of starting within the affect or entering on a turn.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Just to clarify, you are saying that you only enter the webs when you go from an unaffected square into the webs and not when you walk from one web square to another? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jul 14 at 1:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @med That is correct. \$\endgroup\$ – Rykara Jul 14 at 3:14
2
\$\begingroup\$

No, you only have to make one save per turn.

To break down the spell's text: "Each creature ... must make a Dexterity saving throw." Once you make your one saving throw, you don't have to roll again, because the creature that is you has already made a saving throw.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm unsure, are you saying that if you made a save, left the webs and re-entered them you also wouldn't make a second saving throw? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jul 13 at 22:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ Correct. You already made a save against the spell this turn. I read it as "each creature who does either of [starts their turn in the web OR enters it] must make a save". If you start your turn there and make your save, the whole clause has been fulfilled. Activating the second part of the OR doesn't change anything, because you already did it due to the first part. \$\endgroup\$ – Darth Pseudonym Jul 13 at 23:16
0
\$\begingroup\$

No, not for just moving through...

The Web spell has up to 4 effects.

Creatures who either start their turn or enter into it on their turn would be subject to;

  1. Lightly Obscured no Save
  2. Difficult Terrain no Save
  3. Restrained condition Dex. Save against spell DC and a Strength check to break free if Dex. Save failed.
  4. 2D4 Fire damage no Save but only affects creatures who start their turn on a space where the webs have been set on fire.

But

The language does not state the first time you enter on your turn, so a creature entering and exiting and re-entering the spell would have to make 2 saves against the restrained condition.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.