Page 74 of The Book of Vile Darkness shows the table for The Vermin Lord and at 8th level the ability "pincer claws" is gained. However, in the accompanying ability descriptions for the class, that ability is conspicuously absent. Does anyone know if any official errata exists that explains this ability? Incidentally, I just give my vermin lord (2)1D6 natural claw attacks that if successful can attempt a grapple as a free action. If there is any errata known of I would appreciate the knowledge, thanks.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Relevant \$\endgroup\$ – J. Mini Jul 15 '19 at 9:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jul 16 '19 at 0:53

There are no official erratas for this ability that I am aware of. The only indication of the meaning of this ability MAY be is in Sandstorm where on page 191 the entry for Wasteland Crawler has the following attack options:

Attack: Pincer claw +13 melee (2d6+8) or tail sting +13 melee (1d6+8 plus 1d6 fire)

Full Attack: 2 pincer claws +13 melee (2d6+8) and tail sting +11 melee (1d6+4 plus 1d6 fire

This is as far as I'm aware the only reference to Pincer Claws.

I'd be fine with the house rule you presented.

|improve this answer|||||
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think that a natural attack with the base damage equal to a greatsword is a bit high. Plus, improved natural attack feat would increase the damage to 2d8 which is the equivalent of a fullblade. A bit high. \$\endgroup\$ – Joseph Douglas Jul 26 '19 at 21:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JosephDouglas Eh, vermin lords aren’t exactly melee powerhouses to begin with, and base weapon damage doesn’t matter that much. But anyway, the waste crawler (anhydrut) is already Large, so the base damage for a Medium set of pincer claws would be 1d8 instead. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Dec 13 '19 at 4:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ The creature is known as “waste crawler” rather than “wasteland crawler,” by the way. Also known as the anhydrut, also known as the dumbest conceivable inevitable and a distinct mar on an otherwise awesome creature concept. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Dec 13 '19 at 4:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.