6
\$\begingroup\$

One of my players, a thri-kreen berserker, uses Run Down and World Serpent's Grasp to prone enemies. He then used his action point to make a grab attack, with the intent of holding the enemy to the ground.

Grab says it immobilizes the target. I allowed the grab to prevent the target from standing because it made sense. Can anyone explain why this wouldn't work?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site, Matt. We've edited your question to be clearer. Check out our FAQ for some tips. \$\endgroup\$ – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jun 23 '12 at 2:58
7
\$\begingroup\$

Grabbing someone does NOT stop them from standing up from prone.

From PHB1, pg290, describing the grab action:

Hit: The enemy is immobilized until it escapes or you end the grab.

Grab inflicts immobilize, nothing else (barring some brawler fighter feats).

From PHB1, pg277:

Immobilized: You can't move from your space, although you can teleport and can be forced to move by a pull, a push, or a slide.

While standing up is a move action, it does not entail leaving your space, so being grabbed/immobilized does not stop you from standing up.

There's a fighter feat, Pin Down (Dragon 368), that specifically allows this:

Benefit: A prone target you are grabbing can't stand until you end the grab or until it escapes.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.