4
\$\begingroup\$

The description of the polymorph spell (BR, p. 266) says:

The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality.

The Ammunition section of the rules on monsters (MM, p. 12; BR, p. 114) says:

A monster carries enough ammunition to make its ranged attacks. You can assume that a monster has 2d4 pieces of ammunition for a thrown weapon attack, and 2d10 pieces of ammunition for a projectile weapon such as a bow or crossbow.

The Giant Ape statblock (MM, p. 323) includes the Rock attack:

Rock. Ranged Weapon Attack: +9 to hit, range 50/100 ft., one target. Hit: 30 (7d6 + 6) bludgeoning damage.

If a creature's game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast when polymorphed, does a character polymorphed into a Giant Ape carry rocks on him to make its rock attack once transformed?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

No, the rocks are not part of the creature.

Polymorph can turn you into an ape, but it doesn't turn you into an ape and a pile of rocks. The rocks are carried items.

Like all of the 5e rules, the MM's suggestion that a monster carries "enough ammunition" applies to normal cases, not every possible edge case. A Guard carries a spear, but you can still run into a particular guard who for whatever reason doesn't have one right now.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.