14
\$\begingroup\$

My AL character has a staff of charming that one DM thinks is too overpowered, and he wants to ban it. The staff of charming was stolen by an enemy in AL DDEX 1-10, and was bent with a Strength check of 21.

My DM says that according to the AL FAQ v6.1, there is no rule that says permanent magic items can't be broken. I know that magic items usually lose their magic when they are broken.

Is the staff irreparably broken?

\$\endgroup\$
9
  • \$\begingroup\$ His strength check actually does not really matter, if your DM declares the result "Your staff is now bent." Did your DM say that your staff is broken as the result? Usually an ALDM does not permanently remove a magic item after a session (since you worked hard - using 'real life time and effort' to get TP/gold to buy that). What do they say after the session end? \$\endgroup\$ – Vylix Jul 16 '19 at 4:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast I believe the point of this question is in the part that asks "Is my staff irreparably broken", emphasis mine. OP wants his staff, and seems not to care if it couldn't be broken in the first place, or was broken and relatively easily repaired. \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Jul 16 '19 at 6:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Well,he think it's too op,so he wants to ban it.Even if l tell him the Al faq 8.2 has answer,the staff can't be broken by physical attack. He says the enemy change his action to rob the staff and escape away. Thanks for help. \$\endgroup\$ – ian chen Jul 16 '19 at 11:26
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Following up Korvin's comment, you also state that the DM (may have?) retconned it to stolen and that they just didn't want you to have it anymore. I think you need to decide if you're asking: 1)Can you mend a magic item to fix it?, 2)Can a magic item be broken? or 3) Can an AL DM take away magic items (either by breaking or by stealing them? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jul 16 '19 at 14:43
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related on Does breaking a magic item render it useless? and How can a damaged magic item be repaired? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jul 16 '19 at 14:45
9
\$\begingroup\$

Most permanent magic items cannot be destroyed

The latest version of the AL FAQ (v9.0, p. 9) states:

Destroying Magic Items

Unless the conditions of an item's destruction is specifically stated (talon card from deck of many things, ioun stone, +2 nets, etc.) permanent magic items can't be destroyed.

The staff of charming only mentions the following means of becoming nonmagical:

If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff becomes a nonmagical quarterstaff.

Your DM is using a (very) outdated version of the FAQ, which did not contain guidance about magic item destruction. The only way the staff of charming could be destroyed is by you choosing to spend the last charge, rolling a 1, and then someone could damage or destroy it.

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Rules guidance says the DM cannot arbitrarily destroy your magic items in Adventurer's League.

Magic items cannot be destroyed at the whim of the DM. Just like its not up to the DM if a character's body is destroyed, both cases must be called out by the creature or adventure to be possible. This prevents a vindictive DM from permanently destroying an item or character and puts the fate of the character and their hard won magic items in the hands of the owning player.

Magic items cannot be destroyed at the whim of the DM. Just like its not up to the DM if a character's body is destroyed, both cases must be called out by the creature or adventure to be possible. This prevents a vindictive DM from permanently destroying an item or character and puts the fate of the character and their hard won magic items in the hands of the owning player.

According to the D&D AL FAQ v6.1, any official rules guidance posted to Facebook is official:

Any rules guidance given by an Admin using the #AL_Admin or #AL_Official hashtag is considered official rules guidance. In time, it may be added to this FAQ and made available without the drudgery of having to resort to Facebook’s “search” function.

Mending a magic item?

If a magic item is broken, mending specifically cannot repair it, according to the spell description (Player's Handbook p.259):

This spell can physically repair a magic item or construct, but the spell can't restore magic to such an object.

This implies that a broken magic item loses its magic, although strictly speaking there's no rule that this is the case. It's entirely up to the DM whether a broken magic item can be repaired.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The latest version of the AL FAQ, v8.2 also contains the same statement on Facebook guidance: "Social Media (Facebook/Google+, Etc.). Rules guidance given by an Admin using the #AL_Admin or #AL_Official hashtag is considered official rules guidance. In time, it may be added to this FAQ." Also, as mentioned in Chris' answer, the issue is also explicitly addressed in the FAQ itself. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jul 16 '19 at 21:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.