The Simulacrum spell enables you to make an illusory copy of a humanoid or beast by giving magic to a statue of snow or ice (that contains hair/fingernails/etc.).

While inside an antimagic zone (from the Antimagic Field spell, a beholder's eye cone, etc.), spells are suppressed.

If a simulacrum happens to go inside an antimagic zone, does it completely disappear until the zone is displaced, or does it remain there, tangible (in its true ice/snow form)? And if it does remain tangible, is it then destroyable (such as by pushing the ice/snow statue to the ground)?

Such a situation happened in my Tier 4 AL gaming session last Sunday, and I ruled that it was tangible and (easily) destroyable, but perhaps I made an incorrect ruling, hence why I'm double-checking here today.


1 Answer 1


The simulacrum would wink out while suppressed

Per the effect description for Antimagic Field:

A creature or object summoned or created by magic temporarily winks out of existence in the sphere. Such a creature instantly reappears once the space the creature occupied is no longer within the sphere.

The specific effect of the Simulacrum spell is:

You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. The duplicate is a creature...

Because the created duplicate is a magically created creature, it would wink out of existence within the Antimagic Field.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .