8
\$\begingroup\$

The warlock's Eldritch Invocation "Armor of Shadows" says:

You can cast mage armor on yourself at will, without expending a spell slot or material components.

Does this mean I know the spell? That is, can I cast it on someone else by expending a spell slot and material component as normal?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by András dnd-5e Jul 24 at 8:23

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related but distinct: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/59056/… \$\endgroup\$ – Himitsu_no_Yami Jul 23 at 18:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ How is the linked question distinct? \$\endgroup\$ – András Jul 24 at 8:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm not asking if it's one of my spells known. I'm asking if since the invocation gives me the ability to cast it without it being a spell known if I'm able to cast it on someone else by more traditional means without having to learn it through traditional means. @András \$\endgroup\$ – Himitsu_no_Yami Jul 24 at 15:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ Just realized I did originally ask "Does this mean I know the spell?". That may not be my best wording and it's certainly not the focus of the question. The focus of it was "can I cast it on someone else by expending a spell slot and material component as normal?" \$\endgroup\$ – Himitsu_no_Yami Jul 24 at 18:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ this is a distinction without a difference. \$\endgroup\$ – András Jul 25 at 7:51
19
\$\begingroup\$

No, the spell is not a known spell on your list

The invocation merely grants you the ability to cast it at will - but it is not considered one of your 'spells known'. The language you quote simply states that you may cast it at will. But the qualifier you also quote remains:

cast mage armor on yourself

That is the only way you can cast it - but you can cast it at will. This is very helpful in cases of dispel magic or other means that may end the spell before you'd like it to end. It also doesn't use up a spell slot to maintain your mage armor, which is a huge benefit - especially with the limited slots a Warlock has.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That's what I thought but I wanted to be sure. Thanks for the clarification! \$\endgroup\$ – Himitsu_no_Yami Jul 23 at 18:49

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.