6
\$\begingroup\$

The Aasimar race has a trait that grants the following:

Celestial Resistance: Aasimars have acid resistance 5, cold resistance 5, and electricity resistance 5.

If I cast Resist Energy on an Aasimar choosing cold, does it replace the racial resist or stack with it for the spell duration?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

6
\$\begingroup\$

Spell and racial energy resistances don't stack.

As specified in the rules about Energy Resistance :

A creature with resistance to energy has the ability (usually extraordinary) to ignore some damage of a certain type per attack, but it does not have total immunity. [...] This resistance does not stack with the resistance that a spell might provide.

Therefore, in your example, the racial resistance will be replaced by Resist Energy for the spell duration.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .