5
\$\begingroup\$

The Aasimar race has a trait that grants the following:

Celestial Resistance: Aasimars have acid resistance 5, cold resistance 5, and electricity resistance 5.

If I cast Resist Energy on an Aasimar choosing cold, does it replace the racial resist or stack with it for the spell duration?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Spell and racial energy resistances don't stack.

As specified in the rules about Energy Resistance :

A creature with resistance to energy has the ability (usually extraordinary) to ignore some damage of a certain type per attack, but it does not have total immunity. [...] This resistance does not stack with the resistance that a spell might provide.

Therefore, in your example, the racial resistance will be replaced by Resist Energy for the spell duration.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.