8
\$\begingroup\$

If a creature has been taken over by an Intellect Devourer, what happens when a Charm Person, Suggestion, or other similar spell is cast on it? Can it even be targeted with such spells?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Jul 24 at 18:12
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Maybe possibly somewhat related: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/149908 \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jul 24 at 18:29
3
\$\begingroup\$

The spell would fail to charm the creature, which is functionally only a body for the intellect devourer per its Body Thief trait:

If it wins the contest, the intellect devourer magically consumes the target’s brain, teleports into the target’s skull, and takes control of the target’s body.

The intellect devourer itself also cannot be targeted by spells and abilities:

While inside a creature, the intellect devourer has total cover against attacks and other effects originating outside its host that isn’t protected by protection from evil and good. (Monster Manual)

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jul 24 at 22:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.