4
\$\begingroup\$

It's been established that an 2019 UA artificer infusing Repeating Shot on a hand crossbow does not need a free hand to reload it, as it produces its own ammunition (and the weapon itself is not two-handed).

If one were to infuse two hand crossbows with this infusion, would the artificer, or another person be able to use two-weapon fighting with crossbows?

It's redundant with the Crossbow Expert feat, but still worth asking.

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

No, you cannot

The rules for two weapon fighting start like this:

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand

Regardless of the loading property, a hand crossbow isn't a melee weapon so it doesn't qualify for two weapon fighting. As you noted, you can do two attacks with hand crossbows using Crossbow Expert - although, notably you can do the two attacks in that case even holding just one hand crossbow due to the wording of the feat.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be worth adding that the Repeating Shot infusion (like all Artificer Infusions) can only be in one item at a time, so for this scenario to even occur, the Artificer would need to receive the second crossbow from another Artificer. \$\endgroup\$ – Xirema Jul 28 at 14:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Xirema Could you specify where in the 14 page document the rule stating that is? I certainly haven't managed to find it. \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Jul 28 at 22:09
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Someone_Evil: "You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies." dndbeyond.com/classes/artificer#InfuseItem-597298 \$\endgroup\$ – Louis Wasserman Jul 28 at 22:42
5
\$\begingroup\$

No

Unfortunately, Two-Weapon Fighting still applies only to melee weapons. Ignoring the ammunition property doesn't change the hand crossbow from ranged to melee(emphasis mine).

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand...

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.