15
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing a 10th-level artillerist artificer for a one-shot my friend is running, and while playtesting some with another friend (so I could actually learn my character sheet), she cast Dispel Magic on my summoned turret. I thought the turret shouldn't be affected, she thought it should be rendered inert. For reference, the feature of the revised 2019 artificer on D&DBeyond has the following text:

At 3rd level, you learn how to create a magical turret. With your smith’s tools in hand, you can take an action to magically summon a Medium turret in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of you.

It does also say that "the turret is a magical object". From Does dispel magic work on magical weapons? I feel like Dispel Magic shouldn't work on my turret.

Similarly, it shouldn't be able to remove my artificer infusions from any infused items I have, right?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Does the effect have a duration or is it instantaneous? \$\endgroup\$ – mattdm Jul 29 at 15:42
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @mattdm the effect takes 1 action to summon the turret, and it stays until I command it to self-destruct (also an action) or it has 0 hit points left. \$\endgroup\$ – mayday_math Jul 29 at 15:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @mayday_math - Actually, it disappears after 10 minutes. And there is quite a discussion going on in chat about this. \$\endgroup\$ – JohnP Jul 29 at 17:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @mayday_math To wit: "It disappears if it is reduced to 0 hit points or after 10 minutes. You can dismiss it early as an action." Artificer on DNDB \$\endgroup\$ – JohnP Jul 29 at 17:09
21
\$\begingroup\$

No, dispel magic will not remove the turrets

Arcane Turret says:

At 3rd level you learn how to create a magical turret. With your smith's tools in hand you can take an action to magically summon a Medium turret [...]

So the turrets are magical and are created by taking a specially defined action as part of a class feature. However they are not spells or created by a spell effect.1

This is important because dispel magic only has any effect on things that are spells:

Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends.

Since magical turret is not a spell, dispel magic won't do anything to them (unless they happen to have an unrelated spell on them).

This aligns with guidance from the Sage Advice Compendium:

Can you use dispel magic to dispel a magical effect like a vampire’s Charm ability or a druid’s Wild Shape?

Dispel magic has a particular purpose: to break other spells. It has no effect on a vampire’s Charm ability or any other magical effect that isn’t a spell. It also does nothing to the properties of a magic item. (SAC v2.3 p 14)


1 - You can see this Q&A for an in-depth discussion for what counts as a spell. In short: nowhere does the feature say anything about a spell, or say you "cast" anything, or give this ability a spell name or spell block listed anywhere. Without those things, this can't be a spell.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Dispel magic should be called "disrupt spell" or something. \$\endgroup\$ – Yakk Jul 30 at 14:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Rubiksmoose Awesome! I did some Google-fu and found some references that back that up (hence the deleted comment). Thanks for the clarification though, that's really helpful! \$\endgroup\$ – Kalmino Jul 30 at 20:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Kalmino no problem! Glad I could help a bit :) \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jul 30 at 20:16
9
\$\begingroup\$

Dispel Magic ends spells and nothing else

The description of Dispel Magic states:

Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends.

All the description says is that it ends spells. Further note this question from the Sage Advice Compendium:

Can you use dispel magic to dispel a magical effect like a vampire’s Charm ability or a druid’s Wild Shape?

Dispel magic has a particular purpose: to break other spells. It has no effect on a vampire’s Charm ability or any other magical effect that isn’t a spell. It also does nothing to the proper-ties of a magic item.

This makes it very clear that Dispel Magic only ends spell. Other magical effects are not affected by Dispel Magic, including Infusions and magical turrets.

Since this is the general rule, anything that isn't a spell that is intended to be affected by Dispel Magic has to state so in its description. For example, the Flying Sword monster does specifically state that is affected by Dispel Magic. The turrets and infusions make no such exceptions so are not affected by Dispel Magic.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.