4
\$\begingroup\$

In Vampire: Dark Ages 1st edition, I'm a little bit confused by the rules for splitting the dice pool in situations where you want to use multiple actions and one of the actions does not require rolling dice.

Let's say that I'm a Ravnos and I want to use Ignis Fatuus to create an illusion and make an attack with a sword at the same turn. The first action doesn't require a dice roll; just spending 1 point of Willpower. The second action requires a dice roll. But what would happen? Could I just assign 1 die to "use" my Discipline (which I will not roll dice for, but use Willpower instead) and then use the rest of my pool to attack?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you specify which edition of Dark Ages you're using? The multiple action rules differ between them. \$\endgroup\$ – Jadasc Jul 30 at 0:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ The first edition, I believe. But it will be helpful if you post both scenarios. \$\endgroup\$ – Bruno Estrazulas Jul 30 at 1:06
2
\$\begingroup\$

In the first edition (Vampire: the Dark Ages), that's a valid use of the rules. In later editions, you'd penalize the sword swing by a greater degree, but in this version, you can do as you describe. In fact, there's no statement in the rules that you even need to allot a single die to the Chimerstry action. This may be why this rule changed in later versions of the game.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.