3
\$\begingroup\$

Eyes of the Dark, a feature from the Shadow Magic (Sorcerer) class, allows the PC to cast darkness by expending a spell slot, or 2 sorcery points. If I cast the spell in that way (either expending a spell slot or 2 sorcery points) am I allowed to cast another spell that requires Concentration?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Not to be pedantic, but the current wording of your question asks whether a PC can cast another spell that requires concentration, period. I get the sense that what you actually meant to ask is whether you can cast another spell that requires concentration and still keep up the first spell. Is that right? Because it's a materially different question. \$\endgroup\$ – screamline Aug 4 at 1:38
12
\$\begingroup\$

No, you can't cast and maintain another concentration spell at the same time

The description of the Shadow Magic sorcerer's Eyes of the Dark feature (XGtE, p. 51) is below:

When you reach 3rd level in this class, you learn the darkness spell, which doesn't count against your number of sorcerer spells known. In addition, you can cast it by spending 2 sorcery points or by expending a spell slot. If you cast it with sorcery points, you can see through the darkness created by the spell.

Nothing in that indicates that the normal rule of concentrating on only one spell at a time is suspended when you cast the darkness spell by either method. If you cast another concentration spell, your concentration on the darkness spell will end.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ To echo the pedantry in screamline's comment, I think you should change your header a bit: it's not that you can't cast the second concentration spell, it's that you can't concentrate on two at once. (So either you drop concentration on darkness or you cast your second spell for an effective duration of zero, as you never concentrate on it.) \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Aug 4 at 4:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ @nitsua60: To be fair, I was the one who expanded the header from just "no", to match the question title. But it seems Allan has clarified it now :) \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 5 at 6:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.