Rakshasa have Limited Spell Immunity and can only be affected by spells of 6th level and lower if they want to be affected. Let's say I'm fighting a Rakshasa who is under the effects of a Haste spell. If I want to dispel the haste spell, presumably I cannot target the Rakshasa with Dispel Magic, but can I target the Haste effect?

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Commented Aug 5, 2019 at 0:35

1 Answer 1



In order to end the haste spell you would have to target the rakshasa.

From the description of dispel magic:

Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends.

The haste spell isn't creating a magical effect in the space (that is things like illusions, walls of fire, etc.). If you would like to argue otherwise you are very quickly into the realm of things 5e doesn't define properly (ie. what is an object, magical effect, etc.?).

Do note that you can end it by casting dispel magic using a 7th level spell slot (or higher) which would automatically end all spells of 7th level or lower on it.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ This begs the question though, is the Rakshasa affected by Dispel Magic or is the spell that is affecting the Rakshasa the one affected. Note that it doesn't say can't be targeted. \$\endgroup\$
    – Slagmoth
    Commented Aug 5, 2019 at 1:10
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ "that is things like illusions, walls of fire, etc" — is there any rule that defines magical effects this way? Or is it your interpretation of the word? \$\endgroup\$
    – Mołot
    Commented Aug 5, 2019 at 5:39
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The checklist Wizards of the Coast provided to determine whether an effect is magical is: 1. Is it a magic item? 2. Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell that’s mentioned in its description? 3. Is it a spell attack? 4. Is it fueled by the use of spell slots? 5. Does its description say it’s magical? So the things created by spells count as magical effects for the purposes of Dispel Magic. In the case of Haste, the description only gives the bonuses to the target and doesn't say any kind of tangible thing is put into the world that Dispel Magic could target. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Aug 5, 2019 at 8:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Your title is a hard "No", but your justification rambles into "thigns 5e doesn't define properly". Your explanation does not support your thesis. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ben Barden
    Commented Oct 11, 2019 at 19:24

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .