9
\$\begingroup\$

So I am looking at the description of the 5th level spell Animate Objects, it says that its duration is up to a minute, however it also says that, "once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete". If the task lasts longer than a minute, does it continue to stay animated?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 12 at 1:19
21
\$\begingroup\$

An animated object is only a creature while the spell is active

The spell says (emphasis added):

Each target animates and becomes a creature under your control until the spell ends or until reduced to 0 Hit Points.

As soon as the spell ends for any reason (end of duration, loss of concentration, dispelled, etc.), an object animated by the spell ceases to be a creature and reverts to being an object. At that point, any orders you have issued to the creature become irrelevant, because the creature no longer exists.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.