Let’s say a ranger casts spike growth (up to 10 minutes), then realizes it is useless since the enemy is able to fly. Can they end the spell prematurely?


It is a concentration spell, so yes

Simply dropping concentration (which takes no action, per the rules on concentration) ends the spell prematurely, unless the spell description overrides what happens when concentration ends (as conjure elemental does).

If the spell is not a concentration spell, you can end it early if the spell description says so, but there is no general rule allowing non-concentration spells to be ended early. (Note that the Duration section of the spellcasting rules does not mention being able to end non-concentration spells early.)

  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ You could reference the Sage Advice Compendium 2019 p13 under the question: Can a spellcaster dismiss a spell after casting it... which clearly supports your answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth Aug 13 '19 at 11:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.