1
\$\begingroup\$

The Seeking Spell metamagic feat says:

In order to benefit from this feat, the selected spell must have a range greater than touch and target one or more creatures, or it must require the caster to make a ranged touch attack.

When aiming a Fireball it says:

You point your finger and determine the range (distance and height) at which the fireball is to burst. A glowing, pea-sized bead streaks from the pointing digit and, unless it impacts upon a material body or solid barrier prior to attaining the prescribed range, blossoms into the fireball at that point. An early impact results in an early detonation. If you attempt to send the bead through a narrow passage, such as through an arrow slit, you must “hit” the opening with a ranged touch attack, or else the bead strikes the barrier and detonates prematurely.

Fireball is normally an Area spell but has a caveat that requires a ranged touch attack roll. Does this allow you to apply Still Spell to a Fireball shot through a ring to make it hit any target in range?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Did you mean to say Still Spell in your last sentence rather than Seeking Spell as linked above it? \$\endgroup\$ – John Clifford Aug 15 at 9:22
1
\$\begingroup\$

No, Seeking Spell does not work with fireball.

Seeking Spell states:

A seeking spell’s range can bend around obstacles to reach the intended target. You can define the route yourself or unambiguously identify a target and allow the spell to determine its own path. However, the spell fails if it would have to travel farther than its maximum range to reach the identified target. A ranged attack roll made to deliver a seeking spell is not subject to cover or concealment. In order to benefit from this feat, the selected spell must have a range greater than touch and target one or more creatures, or it must require the caster to make a ranged touch attack.

If we look at Fireball, we see:

Area 20-ft.-radius spread

[...]

If you attempt to send the bead through a narrow passage, such as through an arrow slit, you must “hit” the opening with a ranged touch attack, or else the bead strikes the barrier and detonates prematurely.

Fireball does not have a target line of one or more creatures, nor does it require the caster to make a ranged touch attack. There are just instances where you need to do so.

An example of a spell where you're required to make a ranged touch attack is Scorching Ray, which states:

Each ray requires a ranged touch attack to hit and deals 4d6 points of fire damage.


A tangent on the usage of Seeking Spell.

If we look at the rules for magic we see:

A line of effect is a straight, unblocked path that indicates what a spell can affect. A line of effect is canceled by a solid barrier. It’s like line of sight for ranged weapons, except that it’s not blocked by fog, darkness, and other factors that limit normal sight.

You must have a clear line of effect to any target that you cast a spell on or to any space in which you wish to create an effect. You must have a clear line of effect to the point of origin of any spell you cast.

Seeking spell allows us to bypass the requirement of having a straight unblocked path for casting a spell.

This means that spells like Magic Missile or Scorching Ray, could be cast if you have line of sight to a target, but not line of effect. It also allows you to ignore Cover and Concealment with spells like Searing light or Scorching Ray, helping to increase your odds of hitting a creature.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ In order to benefit from this feat, the selected spell must have a range greater than touch and target one or more creatures, or it must require the caster to make a ranged touch attack. \$\endgroup\$ – Sandwich Aug 16 at 20:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Sandwich that is what I stated? What's your point? \$\endgroup\$ – william porter Aug 16 at 20:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ The "or" is a conditional statement. If either side of that statement is true at any point, the statement evaluates to true. Therefore, if there's an instance where you are required to use a touch attack with a fireball, the feat would apply. \$\endgroup\$ – Sandwich Aug 16 at 20:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Sandwich Except the spell does not require a ranged touch attack, there's an instance where you can use one, but there is no requirement to do so. \$\endgroup\$ – william porter Aug 16 at 20:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ If you want to hit an arrow slit with a fireball, you are required to make a ranged touch attack if you want to proceed with your action. While you have the option to do so, if you want to take that action, it becomes a requirement. \$\endgroup\$ – Sandwich Aug 16 at 20:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.