3
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

The haste spell's description states:

it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.

When looking at this Q/A ("Does the haste spell's hasted action allow you to make unarmed strikes") I realized grapple/shove state:

You can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack...

Both of them are considered melee attacks but are not weapon attacks. Does this really mean you cannot grapple or shove when taking haste's Attack action?

Note: I am asking this even though it seems clear to me that you cannot grapple/shove through haste because perhaps (hopefully) there is some specific exception I've missed somewhere.

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Medix2, Purple Monkey dnd-5e Aug 16 at 11:17

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Guess I should've searched for ("haste", "shove", [dnd-5e]), oh well \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Aug 16 at 11:19

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.