13
\$\begingroup\$

Does the Green-Flame Blade cantrip work with the Zephyr Strike spell?

Specifically, I am unsure as to whether the Zephyr Strike spell (XGtE, p. 171) requires you take the Attack action. Its description states:

Once before the spell ends, you can give yourself advantage on one weapon attack roll on your turn.

I'm unsure whether the making of this attack would fall under the Attack action, or if it could work in conjunction with Green-Flame Blade.

\$\endgroup\$
25
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, because zephyr strike does not require the Attack action.

The Attack action is one type of action you can use in combat. There are other ways to make weapon attack rolls. For further explanation, see these related questions:

The cantrip green-flame blade is one such example of making a weapon attack roll without the Attack action. Its description says:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects...

Zephyr strike does not mention the Attack action, but instead refers to:

one weapon attack roll on your turn

If you cast green-flame blade on your turn, and use it to make a melee weapon attack roll, then you are making a weapon attack roll on your turn. Thus it could work with zephyr strike.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Isn't there a difference between "weapon attack" and "attack with a weapon"? Zephyr strike says: "Once before the spell ends, you can give yourself advantage on one weapon attack roll on your turn." but green-flame blade says: "As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature..." - I can't find a related Q&A about this, else I would have included a link, but I think there is known to be a difference between the two... \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Aug 19 at 8:05
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @NathanS sageadvice.eu/2015/09/06/… By this and the additions below, a 'weapon attack' is an 'attack with a weapon', except that unarmed strike can be used for a melee weapon attack (melee attack with a weapon) \$\endgroup\$ – Mark says Reinstate Monica Aug 19 at 9:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Fair enough, I'm convinced; I must have misremembered about those two terms having some significant difference in 5e. In that case, since that was the only reason I hesitated to upvote, have a +1. \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Aug 19 at 9:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.