I want to cast Magic Jar to transfer my soul into a gem, then possess someone, then cast Imprisonment on my now-soulless body to store it safely and be able to carry it everywhere with me in case my new body dies.

Is my soulless catatonic body a valid target for Imprisonment ?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Related : Can a Magic Jar gem be used to cast Imprisonment? \$\endgroup\$ Aug 22, 2019 at 8:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Note: "Light can pass through the gemstone normally (allowing the target to see out and other creatures to see in), but nothing else can pass through, even by means of teleportation or planar travel." I am pretty sure your soul will not be able to go back to your imprisoned body... \$\endgroup\$
    – Szega
    Aug 22, 2019 at 8:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Szega I've thought about that, the trigger to end Imprisonment is "Whenever I say so or my host body dies" \$\endgroup\$ Aug 22, 2019 at 8:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PierreCathé That seems like a very expensive and overcomplicated way to cast Clone \$\endgroup\$
    – Cubic
    Aug 22, 2019 at 9:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Cubic True, but Clone has its problems too (e.g. very costly gold-wise, takes up space, takes 120 days to mature). \$\endgroup\$ Aug 22, 2019 at 9:31

1 Answer 1


Yes it is.

Your body is in a catatonic state, but isn't dead according to the Magic Jar spell. Note the wording:

The only action you can take is to project your soul up to 100 feet out of the container, either returning to your living body (and ending the spell) or attempting to possess a humanoid's body.

This implies that your body is still alive after casting Magic Jar. While it's alive, it counts as a creature and is therefore a valid target for the Imprisonment spell.

Note that the rules do not give a precise definition of creature, but it would be very strange if a living body were not a creature. Among other things, it would be immune to poison.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .