5
\$\begingroup\$

Silent Spell costs 1 action, but allows you to waive the spell's verbal component. Does waiving the verbal component reduce the spell's action cost by 1, thus producing no net change in the number of actions to cast the spell?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

1
\$\begingroup\$

No. There is no rule that ties the action cost of Cast a Spell to the components of the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ P.303 "A spell description lists the components required to Cast the Spell. For most spells, the number of components is equal to the number of actions you must spend to Cast the Spell." \$\endgroup\$
    – Strill
    Aug 27, 2019 at 4:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ Good point. The correspondence is therefore intentional without being a rule. \$\endgroup\$
    – darch
    Aug 27, 2019 at 4:27

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .