4
\$\begingroup\$

If someone uses the spell command and says "drop", would you drop your backpack as well and all its contents, or just what's in your hands?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Are they holding the backpack in their hands or wearing it? \$\endgroup\$ – John Aug 25 at 5:27
25
\$\begingroup\$

The spell is usually left up to the GM but "drop" has a specific effect

Much of the spell is left up to the GM's interpretation:

You might issue a command other than one described here. If you do so, the GM determines how the target behaves.

That said, the "Drop" command in particular is an example the spell provides:

Drop: The target drops whatever it is holding and then ends its turn.

So for this example a target would simply drop what it is holding and using the standard English meaning the target would not drop things it is carrying such as a backpack, let alone pour out all of its contents.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ Yeah if you stretch the meaning of holding so far it includes worn backpacks it should logically include things like clothing as well. Now of course if they are currently holding their backpack in their hands, say after picking it up, that's a different story. \$\endgroup\$ – John Aug 25 at 5:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.