-6
\$\begingroup\$

I know that similar versions of this question have been asked, even by me.

The line in question of the enlarge person spell says:

Target one humanoid creature

The glossary/common terms doesn't include this term. Nor does the spell itself state what a humanoid creature is. Is it a creature in a similar shape as a human, or possessing the humanoid subtype?

I ask because earth elementals are described as:

This hulking, roughly humanoid creature of dirt and stone explodes up from the earth, faceless save for two glowing gemstone eyes.

Thus, an earth elemental is humanoid in form but not type. Does the spell work on things with head(s), arm(s), leg(s), and a torso?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Enlarge person refers to the Humanoid creature type. Only creatures of that type can be targeted with that spell.1 Creatures of any other type—aberration, animal, construct, dragon, fey, monstrous humanoid, ooze, outsider, plant, undead, or vermin—are not eligible for that spell. This would include earth elementals, as they are outsiders, not humanoids. Being “roughly humanoid in shape,” even being perfectly humanoid in shape (as, for example, a doppelganger might well be), is not relevant—only the creature type is.

  1. Barring special cases like the spell sharing of animal companions
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So, the answer is RAI because no where does it state its the subtype? \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Aug 26 '19 at 22:11
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Fering “RAI” does not mean “not-rules-as-written.” Please do not use it that way; it only fosters confusion and miscommunication. There is no claim whatsoever that anything is RAI, and if there was, that would be backed up with a statement indicating intent by one of Pathfinder’s authors, which is conspicuously absent. Anyway, no, this is purely RAW—this is what the term “humanoid creature” means in Pathfinder. The “roughly” qualifier for earth elementals—not to mention the indication of its outsider type—makes that a complete red herring. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Aug 26 '19 at 23:00
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Fering It’s unfortunate that Pathfinder often uses game terms in their regular-English sense without any particular indication of that, but ultimately context will make things clear in almost all cases. Both enlarge person and the description of earth elementals are very much in the category of “clear cases.” \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Aug 26 '19 at 23:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.