Essentially, I'm not sure "where" stored Portent rolls "exist" while not in use.

The simulacrum spell description says:

It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature's hit point maximum and is formed without any equipment. Otherwise, the illusion uses all the statistics of the creature it duplicates, except that it is a construct.

The Divination wizard's Portent feature (PHB, p. 116) reads as follows:

When you finish a long rest, roll two d20s and record the numbers rolled. You can replace any attack roll, saving throw, or ability check made by you or a creature that you can see with one of these foretelling rolls. You must choose to do so before the roll, and you can replace a roll in this way only once per turn.

Each foretelling roll can be used only once. When you finish a long rest, you lose any unused foretelling rolls.

Presumably, if you used Simulacrum on a creature with the Lucky feat, the resulting simulacrum would be created with Luck points (the same number that the original creature had at the time of casting). Does Simulacrum interact with Portent in the same way?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Can you tell why you are presuming the carrying over of luck points? Is there something that eludes to the that specifically? \$\endgroup\$ – KelvintheWizard Aug 29 '19 at 3:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KelvintheWizard Because luck points are uses/long rest that get expended. Portent Rolls are already determined at the end of a long rest and can be spent in a very meta way. This question is asking if the Simulacrum has the same rolls at creation not if they can use the ability at all. \$\endgroup\$ – linksassin Aug 29 '19 at 4:15

I would say: Yes and No

I can't find any specific rules one way or the other, but portent is a mechanic for the divination wizard receiving

glimpses of the future..

So I would say that the simulacrum actually has the same glimpses of the future since it presumably takes all the memories of the original person.

Therefore I would rule that the 2 Portent rolls can be used by either the caster or the simulacrum, but there remain 2 rolls, and 2 uses, rather than 4 uses.

The explanation might be that the caster sees a vision in the morning of his simulacrum avoiding some kind of danger, and the simulacrum is fully aware of this, so is allowed to use the roll. The simulacrum didn't get its own visions however.

The following morning however I would certainly give the simulacrum its own rolls. I can however see this being rules in many different ways, and this is just what I think makes the most sense given the 'fluff' around Portent.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Out of curiosity, do you know of any other feature in which a die roll (or other value) gets "stored" in a way similar to the Portent feature? \$\endgroup\$ – Cacse Aug 29 '19 at 23:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ @casce not off the top of my head \$\endgroup\$ – SeriousBri Aug 30 '19 at 9:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.