7
\$\begingroup\$

Assume, a Giant Toad swallowed kobold A. Kobold B stands near this Giant Toad (inside 5 feets).

Both kobolds have Pack Tactics feature, which says

You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies is within 5 feet of the creature and the ally isn’t incapacitated.

Does it mean that both kobolds have advantage on an their attack rolls? Maybe only kobold A? Maybe only kobold B?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

RAW then yes, advantage can be applied to both kobolds as all the requirements are met. The giant toad's Swallow action doesn't impose the incapacitated condition.

RAI, I would say no. The idea behind advantage through Pack Tactics or flanking is that your ally is in a position to distract the enemy, thus making your attack more likely to be successful. When one of the allies is swallowed inside the enemy, I would say its ability to distract is severely limited.

So, it is GM-dependent, I would say. There are arguments that could be made for either ruling.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ One such argument is that the kobolds cannot see each other making it impossible to coordinate their attacks. \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth Aug 30 at 1:17
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I disagree to some extent. Foob that doesn't agree with you can be very distracting. \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Aug 30 at 6:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ "When one of the allies is swallowed inside the enemy I would say its ability to distract is severely limited." I disagree : acid refluxes can already be mildly disruptive, imagine a kobold poking your intestines from inside... \$\endgroup\$ – Nahyn - support Monica Cellio Aug 30 at 13:03
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Relevant meta: Please avoid using the RAI acronym, or use it carefully & be clear in context. You should expand the acronym or rephrase it to be clear. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 30 at 21:23

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.