The spell Simulacrum begins as follows:
You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. The duplicate is a creature, partially real and formed from ice or snow, and it can take actions and otherwise be affected as a normal creature. It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature's hit point maximum and is formed without any equipment. Otherwise, the illusion uses all the statistics of the creature it duplicates, except that it is a construct.
As far as I know, the Simulacrum is treated exactly as the original creature aside from the exceptions listed in the spell. The spell furthermore specifies it as a creature. Would the Simulacrum retain the original creature's reproductive abilities?
As a DM, I imagined a wizard who runs a business creating Simulacra of rich women to act as surrogates - for a hefty profit. I wanted to know the RAW interpretation of this issue to know better if or what I would be house ruling if I did.
My current conclusion is that it is possible, but I wanted to make sure I hadn't overlooked something.