3
\$\begingroup\$

The description of the Dimension Door spell includes:

You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn’t exceed what you can carry. You can also bring one willing creature of your size or smaller who is carrying gear up to its carrying capacity.

My example of this is: a villain kills one of the good NPCs. Can that villain take the body with them through a Dimension Door spell?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Sep 3 at 21:13
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Does this question/answer "Is a dead creature's body considered an "object"" answer your question? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Sep 3 at 21:17
7
\$\begingroup\$

It depends on the bulk of the NPC and the beefiness of your villain

A corpse is considered an object. Therefore the relevant part of the spell is:

You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn’t exceed what you can carry.

So if the villain can carry the NPC corpse, it can be brought through.

Suggested weight of different races can be found on page 121 of the Player's Handbook. It gives the average weight of a human as 165 lb. which is within the carrying capacity of a medium (or small) creature with a Strength of 11 (all gear, both villans and NPCs, ignored).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.