4
\$\begingroup\$

If a champion uses their Lay on Hands ability against an unwilling undead creature, does s/he need to make a touch attack roll or does it automatically cause damage?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Sep 7 '19 at 9:31
6
\$\begingroup\$

Lay on Hands does not require an Attack Roll

The Lay on Hands focus spell has a range of Touch, but does not have the Attack trait. Touch Range states (CRB p. 304)

You can usually touch the target automatically

Because the spell does not have the Attack trait, it does not specifically require an attack roll, and touch range spells without any additional requirements hit automatically. Lay on Hands does however have a basic Fortitude save when used against undead.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This could be improved by continuing the quote to better describe how Touch range interacts with spells ("though the spell might specify that the target can attempt a saving throw or that you must attempt a spell attack roll.") and point out that the Undead get a basic Fortitude Save (which by the definition of a basic Save reduces the damage) \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Sep 8 '19 at 2:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.