0
\$\begingroup\$

Does the Inspired Spell feature from the Hierophant mythic path allow you to cast what would otherwise be a domain-only spell?

The Inspired Spell feature says:

You can expend one use of mythic power to cast any one divine spell, treating your caster level as 2 levels higher. This spell must be on your divine spell list (or your domain or mystery spell list) and must be of a spell level that you can cast using that divine spellcasting class. If you are a spontaneous spellcaster, you don’t need to have the spell prepared, nor does it need to be on your list of spells known. Using this ability does not expend a prepared spell or available spell slot. You can apply any metamagic feats you know to this spell, but its total spell slot level must be a slot level you can normally cast.

For an example, let's look at the spike stones spell. It's Druid 4 / Shaman 4 / Earth Domain 4. As it's a domain spell, it is technically a divine spell.

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

1
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, but only if you have that domain.

Inspired Spell says:

You can expend one use of mythic power to cast any one divine spell, treating your caster level as 2 levels higher. This spell must be on your divine spell list (or your domain or mystery spell list) and must be of a spell level that you can cast using that divine spellcasting class. If you are a spontaneous spellcaster, you don’t need to have the spell prepared, nor does it need to be on your list of spells known. Using this ability does not expend a prepared spell or available spell slot. You can apply any metamagic feats you know to this spell, but its total spell slot level must be a slot level you can normally cast.

Emphasis mine. Inspired spell allows you to cast any divine spell that meets one of these three requirements:

  • It's on your class's spell list.
  • It's on your domain's spell list.
  • It's on your mystery's spell list.

So you could use it to cast Spike Stones as a cleric, if you have the Earth Domain, otherwise you wouldn't be able to do so.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .