On Magic p. 19, the wording in the first paragraph of "Using Magic Items" is unclear.
If an item has any "mage only" effects on it, only a mage can use the item's powers.
It's not fully clear whether this refers to a "mage only" entry in the "Item" part of a spell's description, or to spells that require Magery 1 or higher to cast. Specifically, the question has arisen in the play-by-post game I'm in (a hybrid of GURPS: Dungeon Fantasy and DFRPG with some grandfathered vanilla GURPS), whether a non-mage character could use a wand enchanted with Lend Energy to cast the spell.
The desired application is a little cheesy; it allows non-mage characters to act as "batteries" for mages, to some extent, effectively tiring themselves to restore the casting "fuel" for the party's mage(s). We've got the GM saying no, one would need to be a mage or have Empathy (the alternative prerequisite for Lend Energy), and the resident rules lawyer saying using magic items has never required the user to be a mage.
Which is it in this case?