I am rather new to PathFinder and 3.5 in general. I am playing a rogue and running through all the rogue feats I can take and when I came up to Finesse Rogue

Finesse Rogue: Gain Weapon Finesse as a bonus feat.

I found this confusing since at the end of the rogue feats list is states:

Feat: A rogue may gain any feat that she qualifies for in place of a rogue talent.

What would be the reason to take Finesse Rogue at all? If I want Weapon Finesse I would just take it at the rogue feat time.

I am sure I am just missing something that makes it more important to take it as Finesse Rogue, I am just not seeing it...



I don't have the sourcebook in front of me, but looking at the online d20pfsrd here, Finesse Rogue is a basic level Rogue Talent, which become available for taking at 2nd level. The 'Feat' Rogue Talent is listed as an 'Advanced Talent', which isn't available until 10th level. So when a rogue is 10th level, yes, the 'Feat' talent makes the 'Finesse Rogue' talent redundant. But before 10th level that isn't the case.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Ahh, I see, looking at it on that page makes it make more sense. Looking at it in the core rule book made it look like at any level I could select any feat regardless. Appreciate it! \$\endgroup\$ – Leaddore Jul 16 '12 at 18:48
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ A minor note: as @PaulHutton notes on his answer - you cannot take the same rouge talent twice - so the "Feat" advanced talent still doesn't render "Finesse Rogue" redundant - its existence allows you to take more than a single feat overall - that's the reason for several other specific feat-talents such as "Combat Trick" and "Combat Swipe"... \$\endgroup\$ – G0BLiN Apr 5 '15 at 14:50

A key point you might be missing is this:

A rogue cannot select an individual talent more than once.

You may want to save the Feat talent for a different feat. If so, the Finesse Rogue talent is useful.

This applies to other talents, too, such as Combat Trick (gain a bonus combat feat).

  • \$\begingroup\$ You are correct, I did miss that. Or rather, I read that and it didn't click in my head that you would only be able to take "Feat" once. Made me have to change how I was doing things quite a bit. \$\endgroup\$ – Leaddore Jul 17 '12 at 20:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes, note there are a few exceptions. Oddest to me is the Ninja Trick, especially as there is a corresponding Rogue Talent in the Ninja trick list; why don't they just share one list? If they could cross-select only once it would make sense, but they explicitly state they can be selected more than once. \$\endgroup\$ – Paul Hutton Jul 17 '12 at 22:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PaulHutton - It's to allow certain ones to block the other - you can't take a ninja trick with the same name as a rogue talent, and vice versa, so you're stuck with the version you "naturally" get. Also, a rogue can only take one advanced ninja trick, I think. \$\endgroup\$ – Bobson Oct 9 '13 at 19:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.