10
\$\begingroup\$

I am rather new to PathFinder and 3.5 in general. I am playing a rogue and running through all the rogue feats I can take and when I came up to Finesse Rogue

Finesse Rogue: Gain Weapon Finesse as a bonus feat.

I found this confusing since at the end of the rogue feats list is states:

Feat: A rogue may gain any feat that she qualifies for in place of a rogue talent.

What would be the reason to take Finesse Rogue at all? If I want Weapon Finesse I would just take it at the rogue feat time.

I am sure I am just missing something that makes it more important to take it as Finesse Rogue, I am just not seeing it...

Thanks

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

19
\$\begingroup\$

I don't have the sourcebook in front of me, but looking at the online d20pfsrd here, Finesse Rogue is a basic level Rogue Talent, which become available for taking at 2nd level. The 'Feat' Rogue Talent is listed as an 'Advanced Talent', which isn't available until 10th level. So when a rogue is 10th level, yes, the 'Feat' talent makes the 'Finesse Rogue' talent redundant. But before 10th level that isn't the case.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ahh, I see, looking at it on that page makes it make more sense. Looking at it in the core rule book made it look like at any level I could select any feat regardless. Appreciate it! \$\endgroup\$
    – Leaddore
    Jul 16, 2012 at 18:48
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ A minor note: as @PaulHutton notes on his answer - you cannot take the same rouge talent twice - so the "Feat" advanced talent still doesn't render "Finesse Rogue" redundant - its existence allows you to take more than a single feat overall - that's the reason for several other specific feat-talents such as "Combat Trick" and "Combat Swipe"... \$\endgroup\$
    – G0BLiN
    Apr 5, 2015 at 14:50
14
\$\begingroup\$

A key point you might be missing is this:

A rogue cannot select an individual talent more than once.

You may want to save the Feat talent for a different feat. If so, the Finesse Rogue talent is useful.

This applies to other talents, too, such as Combat Trick (gain a bonus combat feat).

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ You are correct, I did miss that. Or rather, I read that and it didn't click in my head that you would only be able to take "Feat" once. Made me have to change how I was doing things quite a bit. \$\endgroup\$
    – Leaddore
    Jul 17, 2012 at 20:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes, note there are a few exceptions. Oddest to me is the Ninja Trick, especially as there is a corresponding Rogue Talent in the Ninja trick list; why don't they just share one list? If they could cross-select only once it would make sense, but they explicitly state they can be selected more than once. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 17, 2012 at 22:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PaulHutton - It's to allow certain ones to block the other - you can't take a ninja trick with the same name as a rogue talent, and vice versa, so you're stuck with the version you "naturally" get. Also, a rogue can only take one advanced ninja trick, I think. \$\endgroup\$
    – Bobson
    Oct 9, 2013 at 19:27

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .