Will Turn Undead work on a corpse possessed by a Dybbuk (a demon listed in Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, p. 132)?

Background: I thought yes, as the creature is a raised corpse, an undead. However I was just listening to a podcast where the party faced a corpse possessed by a Dybbuk. The DM ruled (very convinced and prepared) that turn undead could not turn the creature. As far as I understood the argument, it's because it is actually the Dybbuk acting, which is not undead. While the DM can of course rule whatever he wants, it also makes sense to me. What would happen RAW? And if there is any RAI statements like tweets on it, that would also be nice to know.


RAW, Turn Undead should work on a dybbuk possessing a corpse

The rules for the dybbuk's possession specifically state that:

The dybbuk is now effectively the possessed creature. Its type becomes undead [...]

When it is possessing a corpse, it is an undead creature, and no further description or rules gives it any immunity to Turn Undead or other effects which specifically target or affect undead creatures. If it was immune to such things, there would not be much point to the rule that says its type becomes undead in the first place (except for its interactions with the mechanics of raising the dead, as noted by comments).

Outside of a corpse, the dybbuk is a fiend; inside a corpse, it is undead, with all the mechanical implications that entails. If the dybbuk doesn't want to be vulnerable to undead-busting effects, it should vacate the corpse.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I don't think "there would be basically no meaning to the rule that says its type becomes undead in the first place!" is a good argument. It for example prevents the dead creature to be resurrected using resurrection, as in this question: rpg.stackexchange.com/q/138266/35259 This is explicitly about the dead body and not the dybbuk. \$\endgroup\$ – findusl Sep 11 '19 at 12:40
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @findusl did I understand correctly, you ask about turning the dead body itself, not turning the dybbuk? what is the difference? \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Sep 11 '19 at 13:31
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ @findusl I'm not sure exactly what you mean here. The rules say that the dybbuk is now the possessed creature. So there is no difference between things that affect the dybbuk and things that affect the host body. And since the rules also say that the dybbuk is now undead as well it seems pretty clear. Am I missing something? \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Sep 11 '19 at 17:18
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm pretty sure "its type becomes undead" is relating to the dybbuk, not the host body. \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Sep 11 '19 at 19:45
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ True but it also says "The dybbuk is now effectively the possessed creature" so I would interpret turning the dybbuk as turning the body. \$\endgroup\$ – Jake Sep 11 '19 at 21:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.