What is my spell save DC?

I am a level 1 Rogue (going Assassin archetype) and have no spells.

My stats are as follows:

  • STR: +1
  • DEX: +3
  • CON: +2
  • INT: +1
  • WIS: +0
  • CHA: +2
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ What feature or ability are you trying to use that requires a spell save DC? \$\endgroup\$ Sep 12, 2019 at 21:11
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @RyanThompson I don't know, I am new to DnD, and before I join a party I have to fill out a form about my character. It says "Spell Save DC [8 + Spell Casting Modifier + proficiency]" with an input box below. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 12, 2019 at 21:14
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @AnAverageGalactophagist Does the form throw up an error if it’s left blank? \$\endgroup\$ Sep 12, 2019 at 21:17
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @sevenbrokenbricks It is a google form and a required question, although I was just given an answer by Louis Wasserman \$\endgroup\$ Sep 12, 2019 at 21:18
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @AnAverageGalactophagist which is to leave it blank, but if I’m understanding you correctly, the form won’t accept that for an answer. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 12, 2019 at 21:20

2 Answers 2


If you have no spells, you have no spell save DC. Leave it blank.

Spells and spell saves are associated with a specific spellcasting class and a specific spellcasting ability. For example, if you are multiclassed as a cleric/wizard, you will have a cleric spell save DC (based on Wisdom) and a wizard spell save DC (based on Intelligence).

The feature that gives you access to spells will tell you your spellcasting ability for those spells, e.g. the Spellcasting class feature for most classes, Pact Magic for warlocks, the Magic Initiate feat, etc. Your spell save DC is equal to 8 + your proficiency modifier + your spellcasting ability modifier associated with the spell.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Alright, will do. Thank you for the help, apparently have to wait 9 minutes b4 marking this as the answer to my question. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 12, 2019 at 21:17
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @AnAverageGalactophagist it’s considered good etiquette on stack exchange sites to wait 24 hours in case someone else posts a better answer \$\endgroup\$
    – Dale M
    Sep 12, 2019 at 21:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @DaleM ok i wait \$\endgroup\$ Sep 12, 2019 at 21:41


If the formula for calculation a spell save DC is 8 + spell casting modifier + proficiency, then the formula would spit out 8 + 0 + 2 = 10. (0 comes from not having a spellcasting ability)

Though it should (and seemingly has been in Louis Wasserman's answer) identified that this stat is pretty much irrelevant for your character as he or she is currently; if they had a spellcasting ability it would be stated in the class abilities.

If you absolutely need to put something in the box, then it seems for now 10 is a technically correct number to put there.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I think your math is wrong. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 12, 2019 at 21:39
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ What makes you think Wisdom is the spellcasting ability here? \$\endgroup\$
    – jwodder
    Sep 12, 2019 at 21:41
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @inthemanual Thanks for the catch :). and question has been edited, the 0 doesn't come from wisdom, but rather from the character not having a spellcasting ability. \$\endgroup\$
    – Token
    Sep 12, 2019 at 21:43
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Assassin rogues don't have spellcasting so they do not have a spellcasting stat. All the classes that have a spellcasting stat have that stat stated in the rules for that class. \$\endgroup\$
    – Rykara
    Sep 12, 2019 at 21:59
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ '--' doesn't have a modifier of 0, I don't think. That part of this answer could use more support, if it is correct. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 12, 2019 at 22:09

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .