Changelings have the Racial Emulation feat to let them count as other races for qualifying for things. Goliaths and Half-Giants have Powerful Build to let them count as Large in several circumstances. Many classes and races let you ignore some requirements for certain feats/classes. And lots of characters can use UMD to count as something they're not for using, well, a magic device.

Is there a way to count as Evil in alignment for the purposes of qualifying for feats?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Kind of ironic that this would be the question that boosts my reputation to 777. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 17 '19 at 4:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ Trivial: If you're Evil, then you're counted as being Evil. \$\endgroup\$
    – J. Mini
    Sep 17 '19 at 14:16

Anything with the evil subtype will count as evil for “effects” regardless of their actual alignment. Unfortunately, the word “effects” is not defined for D&D 3.5e—so we don’t know exactly what it means. Does it include requirements? Unknown, but it might. I have certainly never had a problem allowing it to do so. Anyway, assuming that this works, polymorph has “The subject’s creature type and subtype (if any) change to match the new form.”

Likewise for the other alignments, and there are options aside from polymorph for getting subtypes. Savage Species even has a ritual for gaining a subtype permanently.

I am not aware of any other option for qualifying as evil. Fiendish Codex II: Tyrants of the Nine Hells has the hellbred race, which can use evil spells and magic items despite not being evil themselves, and Complete Scoundrel has the malconvoker, which can cast evil conjurations even if they are a good cleric, and without it counting as an evil act, but that’s it.

  • \$\begingroup\$ The SRD just says that creatures with the [Evil] subtype still count as evil for "effects". Do feats and such count? I'm inclined to believe "yes", but a hard ruling would be fantastic. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 17 '19 at 5:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PoeticallyPsychotic I take the opposite view, I don't believe prerequisites count as effects. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 17 '19 at 10:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MichaelDorf I think the question is whether feats count as effects (and I intend to post that once I'm done with this reply); anything that has a special effect for evil creatures by definition has Prerequisite: Evil for that special effect. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 19 '19 at 3:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ Since this answer focuses on somewhat temporary options, it might be worth mentioning that "A character can't use a feat if he or she has lost a prerequisite.", PHB 87. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 1 '19 at 11:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JoelHarmon Not a problem for the character I have in mind, who actually already had the [Evil] subtype. Pretty convenient. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 22 '19 at 5:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.