6
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

I am having a bit of an argument with my DM.

The rules say that you can have sneak attack if "you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll".

If I have both advantage and disadvantage, that results in a straight roll when attacking. A straight roll suggests that sneak attack is allowed.

My DM interprets it as, if I have a source of disadvantage, regardless of weather I also have advantage or not, the fact I am being disadvantaged in some way prevents sneak attack from triggering.

Can someone please let me know who has the correct interpretation?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Sdjz, Mwr247, NathanS dnd-5e Sep 17 at 14:12

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Cool, thanks for doing that. Another question has been found that might answer you question; does this give you the answer you're looking for? \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Sep 17 at 14:13
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Yep, the wording clarifies that I am definitely in the right on this one 😊 \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel Tonon Sep 17 at 14:15
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Cool, glad this has helped you out. Although just remember that "the DM is always right", so even though RAW says you're right, they may still choose to rule it their way... \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Sep 17 at 14:17