4
\$\begingroup\$

If an Eidolon use Divine Dread and then goes into its sacred statue, does the frightened condition transfer? Or would a PC only be frightened by the eidolon? What if the sacred statue looks exactly like the eidolon?

RAW, I can't find any evidence, but I'm still wondering.

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

3
\$\begingroup\$

No, the frighten effect from Divine Dread requires sight of the Eidolon.

Definitely feels ambiguous, but the wording makes it slightly clearer.

From Divine Dread

Each creature within 60 feet of the eidolon that can see it must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be frightened of it for 1 minute...

From Sacred Animation

When the eidolon moves into a space occupied by a sacred statue, the eidolon can disappear...

Furthermore, Sacred Animation also states

The eidolon uses the sacred statue’s statistics in place of its own.

The Sacred Statue's stat block has:

False Appearance. While the statue remains motionless, it is indistinguishable from a normal statue.

So, if the Eidolon disappears, it's reasonable to say that the targets of Divine Dread cannot see it, as it just looks like the Sacred Statue, which in turn just looks like a normal statue (if it remains motionless).

If the Statue looks like the Eidolon.

At this stage, I'm not sure. I think there's cases for and against this. DM discretion is probably appropriate.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .