3
\$\begingroup\$

Lets say a creature is attacked by an adventurer with a net.

Can the creature free themselves from the net with misty step?

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

No, they cannot.

Misty Step says:

you teleport up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space that you can see.

While this doesnt say anything about clothing and equipment, that is typically assumed, as is logical (who would use this spell otherwise?).

So at least any object on you at the time of casting should not be left behind, which would include a net.

Assuming you apply unofficial Jeremy Crawford tweets, you could Misty Step out of bonds that are affixed to a surface, but a net is not, so it should still teleport with you.

Jeremy Crawford: It's up to the DM. I'd say you could teleport out of bonds that are fixed to a wall or the like.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ In this case, are you 30 feet away within the net? \$\endgroup\$ – Verdan Sep 23 '19 at 3:29
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I don't see how a net someone threw at you becomes part of your equipment, rules-wise. Would a stone carefully balanced on the top of your head teleport too? I don't think that there is a clear answer, or at least not as clear as you present it. \$\endgroup\$ – J.E Sep 23 '19 at 9:13
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @J.E To be honest, there are not many clear answers in any RPG, as rules and features can never account for every interaction and circumstance. Due to that, we have to try using what I call logical inference; basically, why is something good enough to be used in the first place, and what logical consequences (both positive and negative) result from that. \$\endgroup\$ – Journer Sep 23 '19 at 14:26
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I agree that this is a murky area that isn't covered by the rules. But when an area isn't covered by the rules, we shouldn't be making up rules and handing them out as official -- we should be saying "this isn't covered by the rules, here are some things to think about when making a ruling, ask your DM". \$\endgroup\$ – Dan B Sep 23 '19 at 14:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You as a DM could decide to make the inference, but it isn't the only option. See this question on worn/carried for another way to rule this. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Sep 23 '19 at 14:43

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.