11
\$\begingroup\$

Does the caster know when a spell with a variable duration ends?

I'm looking for a RAW answer (answers based on Pathfinder or D&D 3.0 are ok if there is no info on this in D&D 3.5); I haven't found one here, nor in the rules.

For example, time stop has a duration of 1d4+1 rounds.

  • Does the character only know that he has between 2 and 5 rounds?
  • Does he know exactly how long he has, since the spell affects himself (i.e. if he rolled a 1, he knows he has 2 rounds)?

What about color spray, since it is cast on another person?

If there is no such info, how should I handle this as a GM?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

As I was still searching for the answer I found this:

Timed Durations

Many durations are measured in rounds, minutes, hours, or some other increment. When the time is up, the magic goes away and the spell ends. If a spell’s duration is variable the duration is rolled secretly (the caster doesn’t know how long the spell will last).

In the SRD

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd also like to add that since you did practice the spell (might even had a mentor, for a spell like color spray) you SHOULD know that it would last 2-5 rounds (time stop). \$\endgroup\$ – Maxime Cuillerier Sep 23 at 8:34
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ So once it does end (at the end of a round) does the caster know that it has ended, or does he have to wait for secondary indications? \$\endgroup\$ – Mathaddict Sep 23 at 15:10
  • \$\begingroup\$ Well for time Stop it is obvious that it stopped since the flow of time will be back, color spray too since the creature will be able to act/won't be blinded/unconscious. There might be other spell that the caster won't know, if you cast color spray on a creature and flee, you won't know when it ended. \$\endgroup\$ – Maxime Cuillerier Sep 23 at 16:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.