8
\$\begingroup\$

Using the Grappler feat, one can pin a grappled target. While grappling uses one of your attacks, in the rulebook pinning takes an action.

Can I, via multi-attack access to 2 attacks, use both attacks to first grapple and then pin?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ Are you asking for a PC or monster? If PC, is this for a certain class? \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Sep 28, 2019 at 14:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ Sorry for PC. I'm not sure why class is important, so all I can answer is it's a battlemaster goliath with grappler feat. \$\endgroup\$
    – Blaise
    Sep 28, 2019 at 14:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ Wanted to ask to confirm how we should like at your multiattack question \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Sep 28, 2019 at 14:29

2 Answers 2

19
\$\begingroup\$

This doesn't work

The attack action is only able to perform the grapple:

...you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.

The pin ability granted by the Grappler feat is a different action altogether:

You can use your action to try to pin a creature grappled by you.

You would have to use your Action Surge to get an extra action (or gain it from another source) to perform both in one turn:

On your turn, you can take one additional action.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ That's what we also thought. Just wanted to make sure in case we could get away with it. Thanks. \$\endgroup\$
    – Blaise
    Sep 28, 2019 at 22:12
-4
\$\begingroup\$

"When you hit a creature with an unarmed strike or an improvised weapon on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to grapple the target. " - Tavern Brawler

If you were to use this feat, you would grapple as a bonus action after making an attack action and then you could use your main action to pin. Otherwise, not possible as stated above.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ If I'm reading what you wrote correctly, you have too many actions. It seems like you're saying "Attack with your action, then bonus action grapple, then use another action to pin" \$\endgroup\$
    – goodguy5
    Sep 30, 2019 at 18:15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Can you clarify how you're making an Attack action, grappling as a bonus action, and then using your "main action" (which is somehow separate from the Attack action you take) to pin all in one turn? \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Oct 1, 2019 at 6:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .