7
\$\begingroup\$

Using the Grappler feat, one can pin a grappled target. While grappling uses one of your attacks, in the rulebook pinning takes an action.

Can I, via multi-attack access to 2 attacks, use both attacks to first grapple and then pin?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Are you asking for a PC or monster? If PC, is this for a certain class? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Sep 28 at 14:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ Sorry for PC. I'm not sure why class is important, so all I can answer is it's a battlemaster goliath with grappler feat. \$\endgroup\$ – Blaise Sep 28 at 14:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ Wanted to ask to confirm how we should like at your multiattack question \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Sep 28 at 14:29
18
\$\begingroup\$

This doesn't work

The attack action is only able to perform the grapple:

...you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.

The pin ability granted by the Grappler feat is a different action altogether:

You can use your action to try to pin a creature grappled by you.

You would have to use your Action Surge to get an extra action (or gain it from another source) to perform both in one turn:

On your turn, you can take one additional action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ That's what we also thought. Just wanted to make sure in case we could get away with it. Thanks. \$\endgroup\$ – Blaise Sep 28 at 22:12
-4
\$\begingroup\$

"When you hit a creature with an unarmed strike or an improvised weapon on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to grapple the target. " - Tavern Brawler

If you were to use this feat, you would grapple as a bonus action after making an attack action and then you could use your main action to pin. Otherwise, not possible as stated above.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ If I'm reading what you wrote correctly, you have too many actions. It seems like you're saying "Attack with your action, then bonus action grapple, then use another action to pin" \$\endgroup\$ – goodguy5 Sep 30 at 18:15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Can you clarify how you're making an Attack action, grappling as a bonus action, and then using your "main action" (which is somehow separate from the Attack action you take) to pin all in one turn? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 1 at 6:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.