10
\$\begingroup\$

The Battle Master fighter's Combat Superiority feature states that “you can use only one maneuver per attack” (PHB 73), but I’m unsure how that applies in the case of two-weapon fighting.

Is striking an opponent with your bonus action considered a separate attack, or part of the original attack?

\$\endgroup\$
24
\$\begingroup\$

PHB says, regarding Maneuvers that:

You can use only one maneuver per attack.

In regards of two-weapong fighting, PBH says:

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand.

So RAW, you could use a maneuver with each attack, as it says you can one per attack, not per Attack action. Of course, you're limited by your amount of superiority dice:

A superiority die is expended when you use it.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that even if it did say once per Attack action you could still do it twice with Two-Weapon Fighting \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Oct 3 at 3:32
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ Are you sure? The bonus action is not an Attack action. \$\endgroup\$ – 40355 says Reinstate Monica Oct 3 at 6:28
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @sevenbrokenbricks Actually... My comment above seems unlikely, I'll search around the rulebooks to see if I can find an example of similar text to ask about \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Oct 3 at 6:53
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Nullman Indeed, some can be quite fun (one of my players like to use his Trip Attack when he has an AoO, he doesn't have Sentinel yet), but the limited amount of Superiority Dice balance it quite nicely IMHO. \$\endgroup\$ – Nahyn - support Monica Cellio Oct 3 at 14:07
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that you can also use a maneuver on each attack within the attack action once you get Extra Attack. Makes for some fun turns at level 5+, in combination with Action Surge. \$\endgroup\$ – Larkeith Oct 3 at 19:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.