4
\$\begingroup\$

Does a doppelganger's Change Shape special quality create the clothes of the creature the doppelganger changes into? If not, can I assume that after the transformation the doppelganger will still be wearing the same clothes he had been before?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 5 '19 at 3:10
4
\$\begingroup\$

Doppelgangers have a version of the Change Shape special ability. The linked rules specify what this ability lets you change, and creating new equipment isn't one of the possibilities.

The Change Shape ability originally made no mention of items at all, which left its behavior somewhat ambiguous, but the official errata to the Monster Manual (available here) added the following text to the ability:

Any gear worn or carried by the creature that can’t be worn or carried in its new form instead falls to the ground in its space. If the creature changes size, any gear it wears or carries that can be worn or carried in its new form changes size to match the new size. (Nonhumanoid-shaped creatures can’t wear armor designed for humanoid-shaped creatures, and viceversa.) Gear returns to normal size if dropped.

So no, a Doppelganger cannot create new clothes with its Change Shape ability. It will either continue wearing the same clothes as before (if they fit the new form), or its clothes will fall to the ground (if they don't fit the new form).

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I supposed something like that but I couldn't find it. Do you know where I can find that description in the Monster Manual? \$\endgroup\$ – Ntakwetet Oct 5 '19 at 4:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Ntakwetet It's from page 2 of the Monster Manula errata, which can be downloaded from the WotC site here. I actually didn't realize this was errata text; I'll update my answer to be clearer about where that info comes from. \$\endgroup\$ – A_S00 Oct 5 '19 at 16:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.