Stack Exchange Network
Stack Exchange network consists of 181 Q&A communities including
Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.
Visit Stack Exchange
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It only takes a minute to sign up.
Sign up to join this community
Anybody can ask a question
The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
3 years, 5 months ago
This question already has an answer here:
3 years ago.
The unconscious state description says
Any attack that hits the creature is a critical hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature. Situation
Target creature is unconscious.
Attacker stands in 5 feet near it.
Attacker attack the target creature with savethrow-type attack of any kind.
Frostbite cantrip for example. Question
Does this attack cause critical hit?
Oct 6, 2019 at 0:04
5,689 30 30 silver badges 70 70 bronze badges
An attack is anything with an attack roll; saving throws do not have an attack roll so they are not attacks and do not interact with the unconscious rule.
Player's Handbook states:
If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack.
(See the question "
What counts as an attack?" for further evidence/help)
frostbite cantrip involves a saving throw and not an attack roll it is not an attack and is not turned into a critical hit. In fact, saving throws cannot be critical hits at all because they don't even hit. Attacks are the only things that can either hit or miss, and so they are the only things that can critically hit or miss as well. This is explained in the question " If you roll a 1 on a saving throw against a damage spell, do you take extra damage?"
Oct 6, 2019 at 0:18
74.1k 9 9 gold badges 272 272 silver badges 507 507 bronze badges
By clicking “Accept all cookies”, you agree Stack Exchange can store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance with our
Accept all cookies
Necessary cookies only