Imagine that an Elder Oblex (from Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes. p. 219) ate a memory of a wizard.

Could it cast spells which were prepared by this wizard?


1 Answer 1


The stat block for the Elder Oblex (MToF, p. 219) already states what happens when it uses its Eat Memories ability:

When an oblex causes a target to become memory drained, the oblex learns all the languages the target knows and gains all its proficiencies, except any saving throw proficiencies.

It doesn't state that it learns the spells known or prepared by a caster, so it doesn't.

  • \$\begingroup\$ But aren't prepared spells already includes in memory? \$\endgroup\$
    – Ohar
    Oct 6, 2019 at 0:46
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ohar Eat Memory isn't some all-powerful, knowledge-absorbing ability. It "eats" the memories, not absorbs them and learns every single thing the character knows. As I stated, the stat block tells you exactly what the ability does, learning spells isn't one of them. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 6, 2019 at 0:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ Even if you assume it learns the words and gestures required to cast a spell, the Elder Oblex has no spell slots it can use to cast them. It's spellcasting ability is innate and doesn't grant it any. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 6, 2019 at 5:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @ohar you're technically right. But mechanically speaking, it is innate (as in, built into the class and not granted by outside, generic rules and mechanic). The distinction betweeen the flavour (eats memory) and the mechanic (gains its proficiencies and saving throws. Nothing else) is an important one. \$\endgroup\$
    – 3C273
    Oct 6, 2019 at 13:41
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Purple mknkey's answer comes from a pure mechanical stand point. Any gm is free to add details and new mechanic, but answers on this site usually deal with RAW as de default \$\endgroup\$
    – 3C273
    Oct 6, 2019 at 13:42

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .