0
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

If I was playing a character (class) 8/warlock 1, and then I put another level into warlock, would I be able to take the Sculptor of Flesh invocation?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Rykara, NautArch dnd-5e Oct 7 at 22:32

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

2
\$\begingroup\$

No you would not

Sculptor of Flesh Prerequisite: 7th level

You can cast polymorph once using a warlock spell slot. You can’t do so again until you finish a long rest.

You would need to be at least a 7th level Warlock. The character level does not matter for the prerequisite.

As stated on PHB pg. 110

Eldritch Invocations

If an eldritch invocation has prerequisites, you must meet them to learn it. You can learn the invocation at the same time that you meet its prerequisites. A level prerequisite refers to your level in this class.

A 2018 Errata has been added to the Eldritch Invocations section stating:

A level prerequisite refers to your level in this class.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ The change was made in the very first PHB errata in 2015 (as noted by MivaScott's answer); it wasn't new to the 2018 PHB errata. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 6 at 6:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast Look at the wording in both errata. The 2015 only changed the intent. The 2018 changed the RAW. \$\endgroup\$ – Eternallord66 Nov 6 at 14:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ ...No. The 2018 errata does not mark that change as "[New]" - all that's different about the 2018 errata is that it directly quotes changes instead of trying to summarize them as previous errata PDFs did (and often doing so inaccurately - see my "special mentions" in this answer about undocumented changes in the 2018 printings). Feel free to check literally any printing of the PHB between 2015 and 2018 and you'll find identical wording to that quoted in the 2018 PHB errata. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 6 at 21:52
8
\$\begingroup\$

No; invocation prerequisites are based on warlock level.

Eldritch Invocations are based on your Warlock level, not your character level. Per the description (PHB, 110):

If an eldritch invocation has prerequisites, you must meet them to learn it. You can learn the invocation at the same time that you meet its prerequisites. A level prerequisite refers to your level in this class.

The bolded sentence was added in the 2015 PHB errata.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.