8
\$\begingroup\$

The description of opportunity attacks in the PHB (p. 195) says:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.

For a creature who has no melee attacks with only a 5 ft. reach, such as a Stone Giant whose Greatclub attack has a reach of 15 ft., would it get an opportunity attack on me if I move 5 ft. away from a position adjacent to it?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

No

The rule states:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.

The Giant reach is unknown (see the related question), but the one and only melee attack from the stats block has 15 ft reach. If we assume its reach is 15 ft, and you are moving just 5 ft away from it, you are not "out of its reach".

Your DM can say otherwise

D&D 5th edition empowers the DM in ways that 3rd, 3.5, and 4th did not. While rule zero has always applied, 5th edition chooses not to explicitly codify many things. Your DM might state that, regardless of the Giant's size, its unarmed attacks still has 5 ft reach, so it can kick you as an opportunity attack. This "Giant kick" isn't in the stats block though, so the final adjudication is up to the DM.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 I didn't say the unarmed attack was optional, I said its reach is up to the DM \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Oct 8 at 16:45
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Still may be good to note that it's not that the GIant has a 15' reach, but that the greatclub attack is 15' and no other range is given. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Oct 8 at 16:55
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I've opened this question: "How do you to determine the reach of a Monster's unarmed strikes?" \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Oct 8 at 16:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.